The historical collection exists to facilitate research related to the history of Ohio Wesleyan University by acquiring, preserving, and providing supervised access to historically significant materials by, about, or related to OWU constituents. It is available for supervised use to the three main user groups described in the OWU Libraries Collection Development Policy:
- Ohio Wesleyan Community: students, faculty, staff, alumni, and retirees
- Delaware Ohio Community: adult residents, advanced high school students, and corporate users such as businesses and organizations
- Scholars and students elsewhere whom we serve through interlibrary loan, cooperative and reciprocal agreements with other libraries, and by opening our collections for appropriate on-site use
Because this collection is of interest mainly to those with ties to the university, the first priority of the collection is to serve the needs of OWU.
What's in the Collection?
Artifacts: scrapbooks, photographs, portraits, mementos, and ephemera
Building, People, and Subject Files
Faculty and Alumni Publications
Student Departmental Honors Papers
University Publications: yearbooks, alumni magazines, student newspapers, catalogs, and directories
What Isn't in the Collection
The OWU Historical Collection is not a repository for official university records and does not contain student transcripts, university personnel records, or correspondence files.
For information about student transcripts, please contact OWU's Office of the Registrar.