Last Updated: Aug 25, 2013
- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. The capacity of content within this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
- America: History & Life
Indexes and abstracts the research literature from 2,100 journals for all aspects of United States and Canadian history.
- Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts the research literature of modern (1450d- ) world history (excluding the United States and Canada, see America: History and Life
JSTOR (Journal Storage) provides full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. The JSTOR collections that OWU Libraries have purchased support such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that JSTOR includes the current issues of some journals through its Current Scholarship Collection. However, issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of journals are not available.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.
- American Periodicals Series (Collection I)
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.
- Humanities International Complete
Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from leading natural and physical science journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.
- Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliography of Native North Americans is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. BNNA contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
- British Literary Manuscripts Online
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
- China: Culture and Society
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
- Harpweek - The Civil War Era and Reconstruction
Full text and images of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1871
- In the First Person
An index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
- International Medieval Bibliography
This database is limited to three users at a time. Please be sure to log out of your session and close your browser when you are finished.
Provides a current bibliography for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
- Iter Bibliography
A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)
- Iter Italicum
The only online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Spanning more than 300 years, this is a large collection of women's diaries and correspondence.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
The OAASC provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the African American experience. It features the content of five major encyclopedias, and content from eighteen additional reference sources that are published by Oxford University Press. Also included are images, maps, charts, multimedia content, and primary source documents. The OAASC is updated 3-4 times yearly.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Every issue of the Times Literary Supplement can be found in digital form, cover-to-cover, in the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902–2007. It is an essential resource for anyone studying, or supporting the study of, modern literature and culture.
For a list of databases containing primary sources visit the: