Last Updated: Jul 3, 2013
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Humanities International Complete
Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- Literature Criticism Online
Gale's collection of otherwise hard to find articles includes the following series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- International Medieval Bibliography
This database is limited to three users at a time. Please be sure to log out of your session and close your browser when you are finished.
Provides a current bibliography for over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) used for research and teaching on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
- 20th Century African American Poetry Collection
12,000 poems and with biographical profiles by more than 100 African-American poets.
- 20th Century African-American Poetry
- 20th Century American Poetry
- 20th Century American Poetry Collection
Collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. Over 52,000 works from more than 316 poets.
- 20th Century English Poetry
Over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. The complete text of each poem is included, and any integral images are also scanned. Introductions and prefaces to the volumes are included, as are all notes and any prose sections.
- African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
Includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. African-American Poetry is a resource for literary scholars and for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, black literary heritage, and comparative studies. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice, and slavery. The variety of poem types is equally broad. The database includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets are among those included in the William French et al. bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975. The full-text of the poems is included and is fully searchable.
- American Drama
American Drama currently contains more than 700 plays from over 300 dramatists of American dramatic literature. Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.
- Bibliography Of American Literature
Bibliography of American Literature is a comprehensive bibliographic guide, providing nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the American Revolution to 1930. BAL lists every reprint and variant edition of an authors works, including obscure and fugitive appearances in anthologies, broadsides, and gift books. It also includes details on bindings and physical features of the editions.
- Early American Fiction
Early American Fiction contains 440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.
- Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare
Contains the complete text of 11 major editions of Shakespeare's works, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, and more than 100 adaptations from the 17th, 18th, and 19th Centuries.
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction
Contains the complete text of 96 works of prose fiction written in British Isles between 1700 and 1780
- English Prose Drama
Contains more than 1,800 plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century.
- Gale Literary Index
Use this index to locate biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
- Literary Reference Center
Includes information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.