Last Updated: Jul 31, 2013
- Oxford African American Studies Center
The OAASC provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the African American experience. It features the content of five major encyclopedias, and content from eighteen additional reference sources that are published by Oxford University Press. Also included are images, maps, charts, multimedia content, and primary source documents. The OAASC is updated 3-4 times yearly.
- African-American Poetry (1750-1900)
Includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. African-American Poetry is a resource for literary scholars and for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, black literary heritage, and comparative studies. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice, and slavery. The variety of poem types is equally broad. The database includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets are among those included in the William French et al. bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975. The full-text of the poems is included and is fully searchable.
- America: History & Life
Indexes and abstracts the research literature from 2,100 journals for all aspects of United States and Canadian history.
- Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts the research literature of modern (1450d- ) world history (excluding the United States and Canada, see America: History and Life
- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. The capacity of content within this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) provides full-text access to the back issues of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, some of which date back to the 1800s. The JSTOR collections that OWU Libraries have purchased support such disciplines as biological sciences, business and economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, music, political sciences and sociology.
*Please note that JSTOR includes the current issues of some journals through its Current Scholarship Collection. However, issues from the last 3 to 5 years for the majority of journals are not available.
- In the First Person
An index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and lexicographers and contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.