OWU Libraries

Mobile Apps : Home

QR Code

Use the QR Code to get to this guide on your smartphone.

                                                     

Mobile Apps for Library Research

The purpose of the guide is to introduce you to the free mobile apps provided by various database providers, publishers and government agencies.


EBSCOhost Mobile Applications - iPhone and Android

It will let you seach all EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Complete, and view articles in full text.  Click here for instructions on getting and authenticating the apps.

ACS
Click here to download the app for Apple devices and Android. The full text access will be available if your device is connected to OWU network via wi-fi.

ACM Digital Library
Click here to downloand the app for Apple devices, and here for Antroid.

APA Journals Pro App
Provides access to articles from numerous journals, including recently published articles and archived contents from as far back as 1894.  Click here to download the app for iPhone and iPad, and here for Android.

ArtStor
Click here to download the app for Android.

BioOne
Click here to get to the mobile site.  There is no need to download any app.

It provides access to high impact journals published by biological associations and societies.  You can access our subscribed contents over OWU's wi-fi network.  If you are off-campus or without acccess to OWU wi-fi network, click here for instruction on how to connect to it.  

Gale Access My Library College Edition
Click here to download app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad, and here for Android.  You can use the app to access Gale databases such as Literature Resouce Center.  Provide your @owu.edu email address. Wait for a password to be emailed.

IOPScience
Click here to download the free app.

Provides access to IOP owned journals.  It allows you to download up to 20 articles per month to your iPhone or iPod Touch

Nature Mobile
Click here to download the app for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)
Click here to download the app for iPhone and iPad, and here for Android.

PsycNET (American Pyschological Association)
Use it to access database PsycINFO.  Click here to download the app for iPhone and iPad, and here for Android.

PubMed
Click here to download the free app.  With the free version, you can only retrieve up to 10 results.

RefMobile
Click here for the Mobile applicaiton for RefWorks.  Log in with your RefWorks login name and password.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Click here to download the free app.

Provides access to journals from Elsevier.  You need to register at sciencedirect.com and provide your institutional e-mail address. Once you have supplied this information, you will receive a confirmation e-mail. You must click on the link provided in this e-mail to activate your access the site.  If you use a free e-mail provider such as Yahoo or Gmail, you won't be able to access OWU's subscribed content.

Science Mobile
Click here to download the free app.  It is compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. It requires iOS 4.3 or later.

SciFinder Mobile
You do not need to download any app.  Just point the browser on your smartphone to this link.

SpringerLink
Click here for the free SpringerLink app.  It allows you to access journals from Springer. It is compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 5.0 or later.