Skip to main content
OWU Libraries

Sagan 2013: Climate Change: Sagan 2013

Speakers, schedules, and resources for the AY'13-'14 Sagan National Colloquium. Click on date tabs for detailed information about the speakers. Click on the Find More tab to learn more about Climate Change using scholarly resources.

IICC: Interdisciplinary Impacts of Climate Change

Climate Change, the new normal....

Explore the dimensions of climate change through an interdisciplinary lens with these events in the 

2013 Ohio Wesleyan University Sagan National Colloquim



12 Caleb Cain Marcus, Photographer, A Portrait of Ice
26 Michael Dorsey, Wesleyan, climate and environmental justice
02 Barry Lopez, Author of Of Wolves and Men and Arctic Dreams, winner of the National Book Award
08 Robert Stavins, Harvard, environmental economics
22 Michael Mann, Penn State, physical climatology
24 Christiana Peppard, Fordham, environmental ethics and theology
  Madeline Ostrander, Writer, former editor at YES! Magazine, focus on climate justice and activism
  Sachie Hopkins-Hayakawa, Environmental Activist and Community Organizer, focus on climate justice and activism
29 Alexander Thompson, OSU, International environmental politics
05 Mary Lou Zeeman, Bowdoin, mathematical modeling of climate
07 David Schimel, Research Scientist, NASA/JPL
12 Lonnie Thompson, OSU, Byrd Polar Research Institute, ice core paleoclimatology
14 Anthony Leiserowitz, Yale, Director of the Yale Project on Climate Change Communication
19 Marshall Shepherd, University of Georgia, atmospheric science and ruban climate
21 Anne Cohen, Woods Hole, ocean acidification and coral reefs

Sagan National Colloquim 2013

Learn More Now

These resources will keep you up to date on public discussions about climate science.

Sagan National Colloquim

The Sagan National Colloquium is an annual event that focuses on an issue of international importance.  The colloquium is funded through an endowment from the late Margaret (Pickett) Sagan and the late John Sagan (both members of the OWU Class of 1948).

Coordiantors for this years event are:

Dr. Laurel J. Anderson

Professor of Botany/Microbiology


Dr. Craig Jackson

Assistant Professor of Mathematics/Computer Science